Antara , Sat, 06/21/2008

Running mates Frans Lebu Raya and Esthon L Foenay (Fren) came out as winners of the East Nusa Tenggara gubernatorial elections with over 772,000 votes, or 37.34 percent of the total votes of 2,067,230.

Ibrahim Agustinus Medah and Paulus Moa (Tulus) came in second with 711,116 votes (34.39 percent), followed by Gaspar Parang Ehok-Yulius Bobo (Gaul) with 584,082 (28,25 persen).

According to the chairman of the General Elections Commission (KPUD) of East Nusa Tenggara, Robinso Ratukore, the ballots were tallied at a plenary meeting confirming the results of 20 KPUDs at the regency and town levels for the whole of East Nusa Tenggara.

Frans Lebu Raya and Esthon L Foenay of the Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDI Perjuangan) secured the most votes in eight electoral areas: Kupang (71,357), Ende (66,955), Northern Central Timor (45,965), Belu (63,722), East Flores (64,865), Lembata (28,849), Ngada (30,365) and East Sumba (48,618).

Meanwhile, Ibrahim Agustinus Medah and Paulus Moa from Golkar Party garnered the most votes in five electoral regions: Kupang (117,592), Southern Central Timor (110,286), Alor (53,660), Rote Ndao (49,948) and Sikka (60,294).

The East Nusa Tenggara KPUD NTT will officially announce the results of the 2008-2013 gubernatorial elections on Sunday. (*)